Ammo Shortage and Alert Thread

tom28

Hello all! So I'm new to his forum and gun ownership in Chicago. It took 6 long months for me to finally own a sig P938 legally. Some of that was time was procrastination.

So I've been to few stores and everywhere is out of 9mm defensive ammo. All the online places seem to be few weeks behind in filling orders. Any of you guys know a chicagoland store that won't charge me an arm and leg for ammo and has it in stock?

You have to travel back into the past - to around August or September.

Walmart ammo shelf - going going gone!

post-3474-0-01828200-1356974597_thumb.jpg

Impossible! According to the Oswego Walmart manager, there is no market for guns in the area. There must be some dishonest shelve stockers.

Its 2008/2009 all over again. I predict you will not see ammo until the summer, unless you work very hard at it. You'll eventually figure out a pattern, and take no prisoners when you do find ammo. You have to be there first, because as soon as someone else is there, they'll buy their limit, and tell their friends. At that point, you'll be contending with all the friends of store employees, and internet forum members throughout the state.

Welcome to the site Tom. It was an ammo shortage that brought me here too - hopefully you'll stick around for the fight.

Tom28, I don't know how far you are willing to drive. Blanes Farm and Fleet in Woodstock usually carries some. Also try Marengo Guns in Marengo. Marengo Guns also has a web site, so you can order on line and pick up in the store a few days later.

I might have to make a day to drive around to find ammo.

I was at article II and they were charging $24 for 9mm american eagle FMJ :no: . didn't even bother asking how much JHP where.

If you want to make a day of it.....I suggest Cabellas - Hoffman Estates.....then to GAT Guns - Dundee......then to RGuns - Caprentersville