I'm moving to Michigan

1911-380

Hello friends,

My wife and I are originally from Michigan. My father in law has developed a pretty bad case of Alzheimer's that has steadily gotten worse over the last few years to where he needs some help now. I've taken a job in Michigan so we can be closer to family and able to help him. We'll be moving there in the next coming months.

I was hoping to get some insight regarding carrying after moving. I'm an Illinois CCL and Michigan does have reciprocity.

1. After moving it will be a few months before we establish MI residency (drivers license, car registrations, etc.). During the transition we'll be staying with family for a while and I am assuming I can continue to carry as I'd technically still be considered an Illinois resident. To me this seems no different than if I was visiting MI for a few weeks and decided to carry. Would you agree?

2. What about after I establish MI residency? Once I am a permanent resident of MI, can I continue carrying due to the fact that I have an out of state CCL that has reciprocity with my MI? Or does my Illinois CCL become void the moment I'm no longer a resident? Would I need to obtain a MI CCL once i obtain residency? I plan to do Michigans CCL course anyway as I think it's wise to receive training on their laws and regulations. I'm just curious about the interim if I can legally continue carrying.

Thanks for the help

Congrats, I'm moving there too. Wife and I are also from Michigan.

Here's some info regarding CCL in Michigan

http://www.michigan.gov/msp/0,4643,7-123-1878_1591_3503_4654-10926--,00.html

One big thing to note is that when you become a Michigan Resident you are suppose to wait 6 months before applying for a CCL UNLESS you can prove you had one from another state. So make sure you do that.

Not sure on #1 since Michigan has no grace period for registration, DL etc. You're required to do so immediately. I'd probably get the ball rolling asap just to cover your butt.