Fanny Pack Carry...

Ol'Coach

I'm not sure if I have posted this on this site in the past, but if I have, it might be worth the reminder:

About two years ago,I contacted the Attorney General’s Office, the local State’s Attorney’s office, and the District 10 Office of the Illinois State Police, asking this question to all three offices.

“As an IL res, can I legally carry an unloaded handgun in a fanny pack or similar case in IL with a loaded magazine in the same compartment of the case, or on my person?”

Office of the AG: You will have to call the State Police for an answer to that question!

(Since when is the office of the AG not responsible for interpreting the law?)

Local office of the SA: Neither the fanny pack nor the ammo can be immediately accessible.

(Probably answered by a clerk to whom I didn’t make clear that I am an IL resident, have IL drivers license, and have a valid FOID card.)

ISP: As long as the fanny pack, or case, is made to specifically carry a gun, yes. The case may even be hooked to the safety belt of a vehicle! However, as far as location of the ammo, you would be best served to have it not immediately accessible. Although the law does not regulate the location of the ammo, it would depend upon interpretation by the officer making the stop.

I then asked if I was correct that what she was telling me was that by IL code I would be legal, but because interpretation of that code is up to the officer, if it were his choice to confiscate the firearm and arrest me, I would have to go to court to prove I was correct?

Answer: yes!

Three state offices, three different answers!

Time and money. Worth it? Up to the individual!

...on that last one, I would have sent out a letter requesting information, and see if they would have responded in like fashion with the same answer.

...proof is in the pudding, and having that as evidence at ones trial. Would be a big stick to whack the DA over the head with. :mad(