Becoming a NRA Instructor ?

mahoney1988

Hey everyone. I know you don't have to be a certified instructor to train anyone on proper handling of guns etc but I was wondering what benefit would there be if I became an Instructor. Also I was wondering if there is any money to be made from being one?

I know I read that some gun companies and training facilities give you discounts if you are an instructor kinda like being a FFL dealer does for buying certain stuff to show your people your training. Just curious to see if anyone on here are instructors and want to chat about the process etc.

I am an NRA instructor. Dont quit your day job but you can make a little money at it. I have not looked at the discounts because I am an FFL also but I do know some companys have special offers. PM me or post specific questions and I will be happy to answer.

Do you have a Facebook? Maybe we can chat on there. I was not planning on quitting my job but another part time gig which is my hobby anyways wouldn't be a bad idea.

I became one at the end of last year. I am certified in NRA Basic Pistol and Personal Protection In the Home. I am getting ready to do my first class soon, but am doing it just for cost of materials. I want to get a class under my belt before I start charging. The guys that trained me, Heartland Training Team, said during our instructor training that folks generally don't make a ton of money at it (insurance, gas, materials, etc.), but that it is a worthwhile and rewarding thing to do regardless of the money. As for discounts, I don't know.