* The Case definition topic: center console/glove box *

Mrr3000gt

* Warning: I am no lawyer *

I know this one has been speculated on based on that Peoria case, but it would seem you are 'safe' from a CCW violation as a CCL holder as it is "on or about your person" and in your immediate control. It would appear that CCL holder can then use it as a storage place before exiting the car if need be with this 'ruling'.

So, if I understand why this is an issue: this definition affects non-CCL FOID card holders. And the definition is not in state law - just a court interpretation of the law in Peoria county.

And if I still understand: the court definition was in response to a CCW-violation charge of some guy in Peoria and with the center console/glove box as being "Cases" that negated the CCW violation he was to be charged with.

But for a non-CCL FOID holder I cannot see how you are not then opened up for a misuse of firearms (or similar) charge for transportation of a firearm 'readily accessible to a person'. That accessibility would still be the same as if it was in its normal case (unloaded of course) and then the center console/glove box does not matter. But the FOID holder would not likely be a CCW violator.

I hate to even throw this out there but is a center console/glove box a legal place to avoid any trouble for a non-CCL FOID holder and is it a legal place to avoid any trouble for a CCL holder??

LEOs and Lawyers are encouraged to chime in (the rest of us should read and listed)