Jump to content


Photo

Utah: Temporary Restraining Order = 120 Day CCW


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 domin8

    Banned!

  • Members
  • 7,299 posts
  • Joined: 27-June 13

Posted 27 June 2019 - 05:22 AM

We often hear from the gun grabbers how people with restraining orders against them should be disarmed, but we never talk about the other side of the person who sought the order. I just found out Utah passed a law that says getting a temporary restraining order provides a 120 day window for carrying a concealed firearm without fear of prosecution. This became law last month. The provisions of Subsections 76-10-504(1) and (2), and Section 76-10-505 do not apply to ... a person who is issued a protective order under Subsection 78B-7-106(1)(B) or 78B-7-404(1)(B), unless the person is a restricted person as described in Subsection 76-10-503(1), for a period of 120 days after the day on which the person is issued the protective order. https://le.utah.gov/...tic/HB0243.html Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
I'm either banned, going to be banned, or just returned from being banned. The truth hurts.

#2 Jeffrey

    Member

  • Members
  • 5,652 posts
  • Joined: 10-January 08

Posted 27 June 2019 - 08:36 AM

Utah gets it.


...and justice for all

YOUR WALLET, the only place Democrats care to drill

#3 cybermgk

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,151 posts
  • Joined: 10-October 17

Posted 27 June 2019 - 08:57 AM

I'll be honest, if they handle TROs like most places (i.e. all too easy to get), then that could be abused.  I do like looking at it from that angle instead of as an excuse to remove guns from someone.


ISRA Member

NRA Member

U.S.A.F Veteran

Single Father of 2


#4 RS1

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 216 posts
  • Joined: 15-January 19

Posted 27 June 2019 - 02:17 PM

Makes perfect sense. A piece of paper isn't going to stop a determined attacker.

Hopefully trainers will step up with a reasonably priced TRO safety/marksmanship class as well. It's a great way to get new gun owners on board the right way once their 120 days are up.

#5 domin8

    Banned!

  • Members
  • 7,299 posts
  • Joined: 27-June 13

Posted 27 June 2019 - 02:30 PM

Last I checked, in Salt Lake City the Utah CFP course is approximately $50. Then the application is about $50. You usually have to pay for fingerprinting and passport photos in addition to those fees. Personally, I thought the need to play for a passport photo and fingerprinting separately was ridiculous. In Philadelphia I was teaching the course for $100 and did passport photos and fingerprinting after the 4-hour lecture at no additional cost. I was the cheapest around, and lunch was included. Usually hoagies, chips, cookies, and water/Gatorade. My closest competitor was $125, and you still needed to get fingerprints and photos elsewhere. Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
I'm either banned, going to be banned, or just returned from being banned. The truth hurts.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users