Question of licensing/law

Twuiron21

Hello! Long time reader first time poster....

I recently lost my CCW and foid.

I went through appropriate steps to get replacements.

I am a snowbird who spends 5 months in Florida. I am a Florida non resident ccw holder

Leaving for Florida October 20th.

My question is, how do I transport my weapons without a foid? When I make it out of Illinois state lines does it matter I dont have a foid on me? My Florida ccw covers me to carry in all the states I drive through except Illinois of course (IN,KY,TN,GA)

Hello! Long time reader first time poster....

I recently lost my CCW and foid.

I went through appropriate steps to get replacements.

I am a snowbird who spends 5 months in Florida. I am a Florida non resident ccw holder

Leaving for Florida October 20th.

My question is, how do I transport my weapons without a foid? When I make it out of Illinois state lines does it matter I dont have a foid on me? My Florida ccw covers me to carry in all the states I drive through except Illinois of course (IN,KY,TN,GA)

It is our understanding that lost/stolen FOIDs and CCLs are 'cancelled" and new ones are issued. You would travel in IL with your firearms unloaded and enclosed in a case. Outside IL you would follow the laws of whatever state you are in.

My question is, how do I transport my weapons without a foid? The Official Answer is you don't. My answer is a little different.

When I make it out of Illinois state lines does it matter I dont have a foid on me? Not at all.

Craig is correct. It's amazing how this state can turn you into a criminal just because you lose your permission slips to exercise a constitutional right.

Anyway, if you have a spouse do they have a FOID. If so,they can take posession of your firearms and transport them until you get out of state.

Another option that I think would be acceptable is if you have family or friends that live in Florida, mail your firearms to yourself via their residence.