Game cams for home surveillance

Windermere

So my wife's catalytic converter got chopped off overnight last night. It was parked ok the street one house over. I work on cars for a living and everytime we have a car come in with stolen cats, I'm always like how did they not hear the saw? Well, I didn't hear a damn thing!

Anyway, damage is done, parts are ordered. At least I don't have to pay for labor, and I have a discount on parts. Total damage is about 450.

I'm still on the fence about home surveillance cameras wired vs wireless. So I'm thinking of picking up a game cam for now.

Anyone else use them for surveillance?

By now everyone has seen the commercial for the ring doorbell. They sell cameras now too. You can set it up to text you any time there is motion if you wish. Then of course they also offer for 30 bucks annual to record any motions for up to 3 minutes I believe. I have the door bell no experience with the cameras. The image on the doorbell is really clear. Enough to pick up a license plate from over 75 feet.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

By now everyone has seen the commercial for the ring doorbell. They sell cameras now too. You can set it up to text you any time there is motion if you wish. Then of course they also offer for 30 bucks annual to record any motions for up to 3 minutes I believe. I have the door bell no experience with the cameras. The image on the doorbell is really clear. Enough to pick up a license plate from over 75 feet. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

We have a Ring doorbell too, and I also like it. The power from the doorbell wires keeps the battery charged so it's ready to go 24/7 to send video to your phone via your WiFi router. We don't live in a bad neighborhood, but I guess everyone says that until they are hit by thieves and no neighborhood is completely safe.