California Open Carry Lawsuit - Nichols v. Brown

My name is Charles Nichols. I am the President of California Right To Carry, a California non-profit association of Open Carry advocates.

I received a Google alert that my lawsuit had been mentioned at this site and so I thought I would introduce myself and answer questions you might have about my lawsuit.

I don't want to get into a debate about concealed carry. Whatever rumors you may have heard about my position on concealed carry are probably true given that I have been voicing those opinions for the past six years.

I am the lone plaintiff in a Federal Civil Rights lawsuit challenging:

1) California's 1967 ban on openly carrying loaded firearms in public.*

2) California's 2012 ban on openly carrying modern, unloaded handguns in public.**

3) California's 2013 ban on openly carrying modern, unloaded long guns in public.**

4) Two statutes of the California Penal Code which provide for the issuance of licenses to openly carry loaded handguns in counties with a population of fewer than 200,000 people.***

* A 1976 California appellate court decision held that one can "have" but not "carry" a loaded firearm on private property if that property falls within an incorporated city or unincorporated county territory where the discharge of a firearm is prohibited - the two areas where the 1967 ban applies. Which translates to no carry of a loaded firearm even one inch outside your door.