Individual selling on gunbroker.com Questions

vezpa

I was hoping to get advice or thoughts on selling a firearm on gunbroker.com from some of you that have sold items there in the past.

I have bought several items off gunbroker.com in the past and had them shipped to my FFL so I know how that works. However I must admit that the firearms I've purchased have been from actual gun dealers and not some FFL working out of his home. My question is about me (directly) selling a firearm on their website.

If I want to sell a long gun to someone in another state how do I check that their FFL is legit? I have seen a copy of my dealer's FFL license so I know what it looks like, but how can I, as an individual seller, be sure that the receiver is legit and they didn't send me a forged or made up license? I'm not an expert on FFL licenses so the burden of proof would be on me. I want to be completely legit and comply with all laws. No mistakes can be made. I have read their website on how to sell but I want to make sure.

Also in the actual ad I would like to use the proper terminology and cover all legalities. I guess I can look at other ad's to see how people are doing their disclaimers but I want to make sure that as a seller I do everything correctly and by the book.

I don't want to pay a local FFL or gunstore to complete the transaction for me.

All help and responses would be most appreciated.

Thank You

I buy, sell, trade a lot and sometimes buy off GunBroker.

But, I am very reluctant to sell a firearm on GunBroker but I have sold other things.

There are a lot of ways to sell firearms inside the State and they are a whole heck of a lot easier. What is it you want to sell?

Have you tried to sell it here? Have you joined a forum that provides free classified space? If you want to stay Illinois specific, just state face to face in your ad. It is a whole lot easier.

Send me a PM if you want to chat away from public view.