Looks like ATF reversed themselves.....again

DD123

I admit, I am absolutely ignorant of most firearms laws other than CC here in Illinois.

I watched the video above. Am I correct that IF he had "shouldered" that weapon when firing it he would have been guilty of breaking a law ??????

If so, how freaking stupid is that!!

That's a level of stupid so high only a government bureaucrat could come up with it.

Is the ATF letter "to legally shoulder the brace" applies to other brace manufacturer as well or it only applies to SB (for now)?

I am not a lawyer but I would say yes it applies to them all as long as they are unmodified. https://youtu.be/auAqPnh9iCg

Yep, looks that way to me. They refer to their open letter, which was for sigbrace.

Honestly, at this point I had considered just increasing the length of my pistols to 26.5" and installing a stubby VFG to make them "firearms" under federal law.

( not to be confused with putting a vfg on a pistol shorter then 26.5....which would create an AOW.

Isnt the law fun?

Yeah it's pretty ridiculous.

But at least we won't have those range jockeys coming up to you shouldering a pistol brace trying to act as if they're ATF agents.

I already see two pistols in my future.....the MPX, Scorpion, or HK seems to have an MP5 pistol that would be pretty great, and/or a 300 blk pistol lol.

The only reason I didn't have one yet is because of the first stupid bureaucratic ruling.

Why so much effort to skirt the NFA? SBRs are super easy to make now that you don't need CLEO sign-off. Sure, the stamp is $200, but once you have it you can do anything you want with your rifle.

Nothing to skirt for those that live under AWB's like Chicago, HP, Oak Park, et.al.

It's still technically a pistol so those folks can also enjoy the rights of everyone else.