Carrying if under BAC .08

Jack1911

As an instructor I recently had a debate with a student who insists that he can carry while under the influence of alcohol, as long as his BAC is below .08. His argument is that the law states:

.......A licensee shall not carry a concealed firearm while under the influence of alcohol under the standards set forth in subsection (a) of Section 11-501 of the Illinois vehicle code.

Any one else debating this?

He may very well be following the letter of the law, but it is an incredibly stupid thing to be carrying while having any amount of alcohol in your system. Just imagine what the antis will claim if someone has even a tiny bit of alcohol in their blood stream when that person has a defensive shooting incident. That person will be crucified without doubt, especially here in Illinois right now. Not a good idea at all regardless of what the law may actually say. But that's just my opinion.

I'm going off memory here and too tired from mowing to bother looking it up BUT, if memory serves, you can be convicted of "impaired" driving even if you are under the .08 limit -- if I remember right from .05 to .08... I would expect the same standards would apply to being armed. My concern wouldn't be some loud mouth anti-gun nuts, it would be the courts....

In my opinion, your student is ignorant of how thin the ice is that he would be treading....

I'm going off memory here and too tired from mowing to bother looking it up BUT, if memory serves, you can be convicted of "impaired" driving even if you are under the .08 limit -- if I remember right from .05 to .08... I would expect the same standards would apply to being armed. My concern wouldn't be some loud mouth anti-gun nuts, it would be the courts....

In my opinion, your student is ignorant of how thin the ice is that he would be treading....