Suggestions for getting started in reloading

cnwfan3

I'm looking to start reloading and I have no experience whatsoever. I want to purchase equipment that I can use now as well as in the future. It is my understanding that I probably want a progressive press. I have heard that Dillon is pretty much the standard to look at. I'm looking at maybe a Dillon 550C essential 9mm package. 9mm is mainly what I want to load along with maybe occasionally some .380 ACP.

https://www.dillonprecision.com/essentials-rl-550c-9mm-package_8_136_26712.html

Would this be a good package to start with? What other equipment do I need as well. Any other suggestions or help would be appreciated. Thanks.

I'm looking to start reloading and I have no experience whatsoever. I want to purchase equipment that I can use now as well as in the future. It is my understanding that I probably want a progressive press. I have heard that Dillon is pretty much the standard to look at. I'm looking at maybe a Dillon 550C essential 9mm package. 9mm is mainly what I want to load along with maybe occasionally some .380 ACP.

Would this be a good package to start with? What other equipment do I need as well. Any other suggestions or help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Has everything you need to get started. Dillon is very good. If you don’t have spp you are screwed right now.

May not be the best time to start because primers are not available.

That said, for pistol calibers I like my Dillion square deal b. It is compact with a short stroke that auto advances for next stage. The minor disadvantage is it takes propietary dies. Not been a problem for me. It is limited to pistol calibers.

I have a Dillion 550b set up for 45acp. It manually indexes for next stage. I like the press but the little Dillion gets most use.

There are fancier powder drops but Dillion is accurate.