Sale of Ammunition across state lines?

PrimePorkchop

Hello Everyone,

I've been told that you guys are the go-to guys where Illinois Gun Laws are concerned, and so i'm here to see if you could give me your interpretation on the FOID act as it applies to the sale of ammunition to non-illinois residents. I've done quite a bit of research on this, but I am by no means an expert, nor am I trying to pretend to be. I have found what I believe to be a clear cut definition in Illinois Law, im just after a second opinion that I know can be trusted.

A quick back story is that i'm a member of another gun forum, and one of our members there is a resident of Wisconsin. He went to Bass Pro Shops in Gurnee, IL one day to buy some ammunition (he lives right on the border). He's done this many times before, but this occasion they actually refused to sell it to him, telling him it was because he was not a resident of Illinois, and they're not allowed to sell ammunition to anyone who does not have a FOID card.

So this instance triggered an investigation by many of us, and lots of contact with Bass Pro Shops in general. What we've come to find out is that Bass Pro Shops does have an official policy (apparently, it's a new policy) that says they will not sell to anyone who does not have a FOID card, and they're claiming that it's because Illinois State Law requires it. The proof they provide is an e-mail from an Illinois State Police officer that had contacted them telling them not to do it. This is the email from Mr. Whiteley with Bass Pro Shops corporate, where he references the email from the ISP:

Thank you for your e-mail and I thank you for standing up for our 2nd amendment rights as we have always done and will continue to do.

In regards to gun policies at our stores, our company policy is to follow the gun laws in the state in which that store is in as they vary across the country.

Below is what we have been told by the Illinois State Police;