Serialized polymer80

Eli Mcfly

From the ISRA email yesterday I read only certain classes of FFL’s can serialize firearms. I was not aware of this, nor do I believe it is accurate, though I may be mistaken.

As I understand the laws, I believe these statements as true (but I am not a lawyer nor an FFL):

Any firearm you make must be intended for your ownership. It is not illegal to sell a firearm you make, but they are not to be made with the intent of selling.

You do not have to serialize the firearm, but you may if choose. I have heard of people putting specific numbers and phrases on lowers.

From the ISRA email yesterday I read only certain classes of FFL’s can serialize firearms. I was not aware of this, nor do I believe it is accurate, though I may be mistaken.

As I understand the laws, I believe these statements as true (but I am not a lawyer nor an FFL):

Any firearm you make must be intended for your ownership. It is not illegal to sell a firearm you make, but they are not to be made with the intent of selling.

You do not have to serialize the firearm, but you may if choose. I have heard of people putting specific numbers and phrases on lowers.

I am likewise not a lawyer or FFL, but I would add a clarification to your first statement: If you do sell a firearm you made, it must be serialized.

Otherwise, I also believe those statements to be true.

I am likewise not a lawyer or FFL, but I would add a clarification to your first statement: If you do sell a firearm you made, it must be serialized.

Otherwise, I also believe those statements to be true.

There's no clarification needed for that. Per the ATF website you do not need to serialize a built firearm in order to sell it.

The answer is that nobody can properly serialize your P-80. AFAIK there is no metal plate embedded in the plastic that is needed for the serial number.