Photo

Question on CCL in Cook co but not Chicago

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 flw

• Members
  • 1,324 posts

Posted 04 April 2017 - 02:28 AM

I drive for a living and often cross back and forth between counties without being aware. Since I'm licensed out side of outside of Cook and do not work in Cook, do I need to download my mags to less than 10 rngs just in case I cross over into Cook Co  while working?  Also is a 15 rnd mag downloaded meet the req of the CCL good to go or not?

Same question can go for Chicago.

Thanks for helping me with this clarification.

#2 BobPistol

• Members
  • 7,234 posts

Posted 04 April 2017 - 04:58 AM

The consensus on this board is that magazines for handguns are regulated by the state, so Crook County's magazine restrictions do not apply.    

I also don't know what you mean by " Also is a 15 rnd mag downloaded meet the req of the CCL"

Edited by BobPistol, 04 April 2017 - 04:59 AM.

The Second Amendment of the Constitution protects the rest.

#3 gangrel

• Supporting Members Team
  • 2,748 posts

Posted 04 April 2017 - 05:46 AM

Preemption language in the FCCA states that all laws pertaining to the carrying and trasnportation of a handgun by the holder of a FCCL is the exclusive power of the state.  As for Cook County, most of understand the AWB and capacity limits to only be in force outside of home rule entities, mainly unincorporated Cook County.  However, you will need to make your own decisions on that one.

That being said, if you believe the magazine capacity ordinances to be in effect, simply loading a 17 round magazine with 10 rounds does not make you compliant.  The magazine must either have the requisite capacity or be permanently modified to meet the capacity restriction.  The ordinance has to do with the capacity of the magazine, not with how many rounds you have it loaded with.

NRA Life Member

NRA Certified Range Safety Officer