Winchester Ranger 9mm, defense ammo

junglebob

I'd like some opinions on the Winchester Ranger, RA9115HP+ as a defense round. These are marked Law Enforcement Ammunition and I understand they are a good round. I am sure there are .45 rounds that are better and I don't want to start a caliber war. I talked with a LEO friend and he seemed to think they were good, though he is issued Federal ammo. He said there is a long wait for them to get ammo, BTW.

I like the hydra shocks, but I think I'm going to Hornady's Critical Defense ammo.

http://www.hornady.com/story.php?s=786

That's what I keep in the home defence pistol..

They use a stubby cartridge (115 grain) - they still seem to feed fine though. (I don't have 100's of rounds of experience with them yet, unfortunately they are pretty pricey)

I wish they'd offer a larger grain ftx for 9mm to make up for the short case. Then again, I'm no ballistics expert and there's probably a reason why they chose to go with a short case/115 grn.

As far as Rangers go, I recall reading that 127 grain +P+ have the best terminal ballistics, particularly out of full-size guns. If you get it, make sure you get the T-series ammo, not the "Ranger" marketed to non-LE. It has the talon bullets, except they are not black, and they are not called talon.

It's the "RA9TA" in this catalog. It's what I keep in my CZ75. I use it because in a defensive situation, "it's what the police use ... so it must be good for self-defense."

http://www.winchester.com/lawenforcement/p...t%20Catalog.pdf

And "stubby" or "short-case" 9mm? I have not heard of that, unless you are talking about 9mm makarov, or .380 (9mm "short").

These are the old ISP rounds. You can also find Federals version of it the 9BPLE for about 17.00 per 50 rounds.