Photo

New to AR-15, recommend a rifle rest to zero a red dot?

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Constable85

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 378 posts

Posted 20 August 2018 - 08:44 PM

Can anyone recommend a budget rifle rest that I could use to zero my red dot at an indoor range (25 yards)?  I'm new to Ar-15's and need some recommendations. Thanks! 

#2 mic6010

• Members
  • 1,634 posts

Posted 20 August 2018 - 08:50 PM

You don't really need a fancy rifle rest to zero anything with a red dot imo. Just rest the gun on a sandbag, your folded up carrying case (that you don't mind getting dirty and full of lead dust) or anything like that. That's even how I zero scoped rifles. I never noticed any difference in the ability of a rifle to be zeroed with a purpose built rifle rest vs whatever you have laying around to prop it up with personally. YMMV.

"Living in Chicago, it used to be, 'don't go out at night,' or 'be more careful at night'. Now it's turned into a place where it doesn't matter if it's day or night."  - John Hendricks.

#3 Dx54r

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 364 posts

Posted 20 August 2018 - 08:50 PM

If you are going to zero it that close, why not just use a laser boresight?

#4 ragsbo

• Members
  • 1,277 posts

Posted 20 August 2018 - 08:52 PM

Use a sand bag, a rolled up blanket, etc.

#5 luckydawg13

• Members
  • 2,091 posts

Posted 20 August 2018 - 09:11 PM

if you have a old pair of pants make a bag out of one of the legs fill with rice  Duct Tape is your friend   :clap:

Kid's that Hunt and Fish don't Mug old Ladies 

#6 Constable85

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 378 posts

Posted 20 August 2018 - 09:17 PM

I might take a trip out to Buffalo Range to zero it. Then again, I'm kind of lazy and might not. They make targets for zeroing red dots at 25 yards that are supposed to be equal to zeroing at 100 yards. I'll probably go to RKA and do it. Something new to try. 

#7 ScopeEye

• Members